Inspired

Every time I watch Biggest Loser I am completely inspired. The way the contestants overcome their obstacles, deal with their struggles and reach their goals always gives me hope. This season I was inspired most by the fact that the final 4 took part in their 1st marathon completing 26.2 miles. Some ran, some walked, but they all competed the marathon.

For awhile now I have had a goal of completing some type of marathon, 5k-1/2-full, before I turn 30. I have never been a good runner and honestly never really tried to be. I made a goal to run a 5K when I return to the States this summer. That goal seemed unattainable to me. Well, until a few weeks ago. When I watched BL contestants complete a marathon I set my heights much higher.

I told myself that “I can do it!” I am learning that believing in yourself is half the struggle. Failing to do something usually results from you telling yourself you can’t do it. You have to push through the helpless and negative thoughts and just do it. I am training for a 5k and when thats completed I will train for a half marathon. It’s a daily struggle but one I am willing to push through.

Helen (48 yrs) finished 26.2 miles

Helen (48 yrs) finished 26.2 miles

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jan on May 16, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    Good job! I know you can do it!!! Maybe some day I will walk a marathon.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Richard Muske on May 23, 2009 at 1:41 am

    I can’t wait to do this with you! I am so proud of you for gaining the courage to attempt it. That’s where it starts… the want. Just keep your eyes on that moment that we cross the finish line, sweat pouring off our bodies, thousands of strangers cheering us on… and then we throw up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

